ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING - 15 MAY 2008

Appointment of Leader, Deputy Leader, Cabinet, Committees, Sub-Committees and Panels and Nominations for Chairman and Vice-Chairman - 2008/09

- * = Group Representative/Spokesperson
- (a) Leader Councillor Mrs D Collins
- (b) Deputy Leader Councillor C Whitbread
- (c) Other Cabinet Members (7)

Conservative Group (7): R Bassett, M Cohen, Mrs A Grigg, Mrs H Harding, Mrs M Sartin, D Stallan, Ms S-A Stavrou.

(d) Allocations of Portfolios

Leader's Portfolio – Mrs D Collins
Civil Engineering and Maintenance – R Bassett
Community Wellbeing – Ms S-A Stavrou
Corporate Support and ICT Services - M Cohen
Environment – Mrs M Sartin
Finance and Performance Management– C Whitbread
Housing – D Stallan
Leisure and Young People – Mrs H Harding
Planning and Economic Development - Mrs A Grigg

(e) Cabinet Committee Memberships (not part of pro rata allocations)

(i) Finance and Performance Management Cabinet Committee

Finance and Performance Management Portfolio Holder Leader Corporate Support and ICT Services Portfolio Holder Environment Portfolio Holder Planning and Economic Development Portfolio Holder Housing Portfolio Holder

(ii) North Weald Airfield Strategy Cabinet Committee

Planning and Economic Development Portfolio Holder Leader Environment Portfolio Holder Finance and Performance Management Portfolio Holder Corporate Support and ICT Services Portfolio Holder Housing Portfolio Holder

(f) Committees, Sub-Committees and Panels – Memberships

(i) Licensing Committee (15 members)

Conservative Group (8): M Cohen, Mrs R Gadsby, J Hart, Ms J Hedges, Mrs M McEwen, B Rolfe, Mrs P Smith, J Wyatt

Liberal Democrats Group (2): Mrs P Brooks, D Dodeja

LRA Group (2): K Angold-Stephens, R Barrett

BNP Group (2): Ms S Clapp, Mrs P Richardson

Independent Member (1): R Morgan (nominated by the Conservative Group)

(ii) Housing Appeals and Review Panel (5 members and 5 substitutes)

Conservative Group (3): Mrs R Gadsby, B Rolfe, J Wyatt (Substitutes – Ms J Hedges, Mrs J Lea, B Sandler)

Liberal Democrats Group (1): Mrs J H Whitehouse (Substitute – Ms J Sutcliffe)

LRA Group (1): Mrs C Pond (Substitute – K Angold-Stephens)

(iii) Staff Appeals Panel (5 members and 5 substitutes)

Conservative Group (3): B Rolfe, B Sandler, J Wyatt (Substitutes – A Boyce, Mrs E Webster plus one tba)

Liberal Democrats Group (1): J M Whitehouse (Substitute – P Spencer)

Labour (1): P Gode

(iv) Complaints Panel (Pool of 11 members)

Conservative Group (7): K Chana, Ms J Hedges, G Mohindra, J Philip, B Rolfe, B Sandler, Mrs L Wagland

Liberal Democrats Group (2): Mrs P Brooks, Mrs A Haigh

LRA Group (1): D Wixley

BNP Group (1): Mrs P Richardson

(v) District Development Control Committee (15 members)

Conservative Group (9): K Chana, M Colling, Mrs R Gadsby, A Green, J Hart, B Sandler, H Ulkun, Mrs L Wagland, J Wyatt (Group representative tba)

Liberal Democrats Group (2): R Frankel, Mrs A Haigh (Group representative tba)

LRA Group (1): J Markham*

BNP Group (1): P Turpin*

Independent Member (1): R Morgan

Independent Member (1): Mrs A Cooper

(vi) Overview and Scrutiny Committee (11 members)

Conservative Group (6): M Colling, A Green, J Hart, G Mohindra, B Rolfe, Mrs L Wagland

Liberal Democrats Group (2): Mrs A Haigh, D Jacobs,

LRA Group (1): K Angold-Stephens

BNP Group (1): Mrs P Richardson

Independent Member (1): R Morgan (nominated by the Conservative Group)

(vii) Joint Consultative Committee (9 members plus 9 staff side representatives)

Conservative Group (5): R Bassett, M Cohen, M Colling, Mrs D Collins, C Whitbread

Liberal Democrats Group (1): Mrs P Brooks

LRA Group (1): Ms R Brookes

BNP Group (1): Mrs P Richardson

One vacancy

(viii) Area Plans Sub-Committee South (currently 21 members – all local ward councillors opting -in)

Conservative Group (10): D Bateman, K Chana, M Cohen, Miss R Cohen, J Hart, J Knapman, G Mohindra, B Sandler, H Ulkun, Mrs L Wagland (Group representative tba)

Liberal Democrats Group (4): D Dodeja, Mrs A Haigh, P Spencer, Ms J Sutcliffe (Group representative tba)

LRA Group (4): K Angold-Stephens*, R Barrett, J Markham, Mrs C Pond

BNP Group (3): Mrs S Clapp, R Law, Mrs P Richardson*

(ix) Area Plans Sub-Committee East (19 members - all local ward members)

Conservative Group (13): A Boyce, M Colling, Mrs D Collins, A Green, Mrs A Grigg, Mrs H Harding, Ms J Hedges, Mrs M McEwen, J Philip, G Pritchard, B Rolfe, D Stallan, C Whitbread (Group representative tba)

Liberal Democrats Group (4): R Frankel, D Jacobs, Mrs J H Whitehouse, J M Whitehouse (Group representative tba)

Independent Member (1): R Morgan

Labour (1): P Gode

(x) Area Plans Sub-Committee West (14 members - all local ward members)

Conservative Group (12): R Bassett, J Collier, J Demetriou, Mrs R Gadsby, Mrs J Lea, W Pryor, Mrs M Sartin, Mrs P Smith, Ms S-A Stavrou, A Watts, Mrs E Webster, J Wyatt (Group representative tba)

Liberal Democrats Group (1): Mrs P Brooks*

Independent Member (1): Mrs A Cooper

(xi) West Essex Waste Management Joint Committee

Conservative Group: Environment Portfolio Holder Leader (Deputy)

(xii) Waste Management Partnership Board (2 members plus 2 officers and 4 representatives of the Council's Waste Management Contractor)

Environment Portfolio Holder (Chairman) Leader Director of Environment and Street Scene Council's representative under contract (officer)

(xiii) Waste Management Advisory Board

Environment Portfolio Holder Leader

(ix) Leisure Management - Contract Monitoring Board

Conservative Group: R Bassett, Mrs H Harding, C Whitbread

Liberal Democrats Group: J M Whitehouse

LRA Group: D Wixley BNP Group: P Turpin

(g) Cabinet Committee Chairmen (ex-officio - not part of pro rata allocations)

Finance and Performance Management Cabinet Committee – Finance and Performance Management Portfolio Holder

North Weald Airfield Strategy - Planning and Economic Development Portfolio Holder.

(h) Committees, Sub-Committees and Panels - Chairmanships and Vice-Chairmanships

	Chairman	Vice-Chairman
Housing Appeals and Review Panel	Mrs C Pond (LRA Group)	Mrs R Gadsby (Conservative Group)
Staff Appeals Panel	J M Whitehouse (Liberal Democrats Group)	B Rolfe (Conservative Group)
District Development Control Committee	B Sandler (Conservative Group)	M Colling (Conservative Group)
Area Plans Sub-Committee East	A Green (Conservative Group)	G Pritchard (Conservative Group)
Area Plans Sub-Committee South	J Hart (Conservative Group)	Mrs L Wagland (Conservative Group)
Area Plans Sub-Committee West	J Wyatt (Conservative Group)	Mrs P Brooks (Liberal Democrats Group)
Audit and Governance Committee	J Knapman (Conservative Group)	Ms M Rickman - Co-opted member
Overview and Scrutiny Committee	R Morgan (Independent Member –nominated by the Conservative Group)	K Angold-Stephens (LRA)
Licensing Committee	Mrs P Brooks (Liberal Democrats Group)	Mrs P Richardson (BNP Group)
Complaints Panel	Mrs P Richardson (BNP Group)	Vacancy